Marriage License Information
Who may marry in Virginia
The minimum age for marriage in Virginia is 16 years for both bride and groom. If either party is under 18, consent to the marriage must be given in person by the father, mother or legal guardian of the minor. The parent or legal guardian must present his or her driver’s license or comparable photo I.D. and the minor must present a full-length birth certificate. Virginia law prohibits marriage by parties under 16 except under certain circumstances. Please contact the Clerk’s Office for further information.
Marriage licenses are issued from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Licenses may be purchased anywhere in the Commonwealth of Virginia and may be used anywhere in the Commonwealth.
The marriage license fee is $33.00. Payment is accepted in CASH ONLY. Debit and credit cards are not accepted for the payment of such fees.
Both parties, bride and groom, must be present and must present a valid unexpired photo I.D.
Blood tests are not required.
The marriage license is valid for 60 days. If the marriage does not take place within 60 days from the date the license was issued, a new license must be issued and additional fees must be paid. There is no provision for a refund.
Copies of Marriage Licenses
Certified copies are $2.50 each and are available by written request or in the Clerk’s Office during regular business hours. Payment may be made by cash, check or money order (payable to the Circuit Court Clerk). Debit and credit cards are not accepted for the payment of such fees.
For marriage licenses issued between July 1, 1997 and June 30, 2001, Virginia law requires that the Clerk’s Office obtain written permission from the bride or groom before providing a copy to any party. Written permission is required even if the person requesting the copy is the bride or groom. Written requests for certified copies of a marriage license should include the following: groom’s name, bride’s maiden name, date of marriage, a self-addressed stamped envelope, a check or money order for $2.50 made payable to the Henrico Circuit Court Clerk, and the notarized signature of the bride and/or groom. If the bride or groom’s signature is not notarized, he or she should send a copy of a photo ID (preferably a driver’s license) so that the Clerk’s Office may confirm identification before providing the requested copies.
For copies of licenses issued prior to July 1, 1997 or after June 30, 2001, access is not limited to only the bride and groom. Written requests for certified copies should include the following: groom’s name, bride’s maiden name, date of marriage, a self-addressed stamped envelope, and a check or money order for $2.50 made payable to the Henrico Circuit Court Clerk.